Tags

, , , , ,

BY MATT BARBER , CP OP-ED CONTRIBUTOR

September 15, 2016 from the Christian Post

We live in a time when “tolerance,” “diversity” and “inclusivity” are considered by many cultural virtues that supersede all others. This popular relativist notion disregards something far more important: Truth.

Yet, and to borrow from Pontius Pilate, “What is truth?”

Jesus is truth. Either that or, as C.S. Lewis famously observed, He is a liar, a lunatic or the “Devil of Hell” himself.

Christ was both tolerant and intolerant — utterly exclusive and wholly inclusive.

He said in no uncertain terms: “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6).

Let’s break that down.

The Way 

Jesus asserted over and again that He is the only way to God the Father. Note that, rather conspicuously, He did not say: “No one comes to the Father except through me, the Buddha, Muhammad, Ganesh or L. Ron Hubbard.”

Utterly exclusive.

Philippians 2:10-11 assures us, “that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”

That’s every knee: Every atheist, agnostic, Muslim or Jew; every Buddhist, Hindu, Scientologist and everyone in between, living, dead or yet-to-be born.

Yet Christ also promised us this: “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light” (Matthew 11:28-29).

Romans 10:13 is even more direct: “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Wholly inclusive.

Nonetheless, the Scriptures remain explicit. Jesus Christ is the one and only path to God the Father and, ultimately, eternal salvation.
Read more at The Christian Post

